Minna Unchi

Everybody PoopsI must apologize to the faithful few that read this blog for the lack of posts lately. You see, I had a bit of an internal struggle with respect to what to say last week. I just completed week 3 of the Gastroenterology block and was reluctant to post because the material covered was all about sh*t. Yes, I mean that in the most literal sense of the word. I learned about all manner of diarrhea, steatorrhea, constipation, as well as colours, volume, floaters and sinkers (The list is exhaustive and I only mention a few). I really must commend the Gastroenterologists who taught during the week, who spoke so passionately about poop without hardly cracking a smile. It’s probably just my immaturity showing but I giggled like a school boy throughout.

Anyway – I thought the material might be a little inappropriate given that my mom reads this blog (hi ma!) – thank goodness my grandma can’t figure out how to turn the computer on. So – for those of you out there in cyberspace who are thinking about getting into medical school, just remember – sometimes your going to have to deal with some crap, but it’s ok- everybody poops.

5 responses to “Minna Unchi

  1. Do tell – Do they teach you about Celiac Sprue (non-tropical) in your GI Intro/course?

  2. Hey Kate –
    I actually did cover Celiac Sprue in my GI course along with a number of other malabsorptive / maldigestive disorders. Interesting stuff – In fact I’ve had several friends who have cut gluten from their diets in an attempt to control their GI issues, but I have not seen any patients with diagnosed Celiac sprue … at least not yet. Keep in mind I have not seen many patients period.

    I noticed that your blog is gluten free and actually looks appetizing (I don’t know why I’m surprised at this). If anyone out there is looking for gluten free recipes check out Kate’s blog “Gluten Free Gobsmacked” at: http://glutenfree.wordpress.com/. Thanks for the comment –

  3. I’m so happy to hear that Celiac is covered in the GI intro (Or so that’s how I was reading that).

    I know – as do many from experience – that it seems to be something that confounds a few people. It has always surprised me a bit to see how much it surprises doctors that not all Celiac patients are grossly underweight but present with a multitude of other symptoms.

    Thanks for the link back. I have just been curiously reading your journey in medical education. This is very fun to read! Thanks for the great blog!
    =)
    Kate

  4. LOL about the food comment.

    Thankfully we’ve come a LONG way since Celiac or Gluten Intolerance groups have been more organized. I CANNOT fathom what the bread options looked like before their hard work.

    Now some of my gluten-free recipes (for pizza, cookies, and cakes) are actually the preferred ones among my gluten eating family members! LOL

  5. Hey Markus has that book along with other favorites like “bellybuttons”, “scabs”, and “boobs” – He has started a great collection of “bodily functions kids books” – if you ever need anymore references you know who to talk to!

Leave a Reply

