Shell shock

I know that I might think I have it rough at times and that I complain too much about the hours of mind numbing lectures, more PBL than any one person should have to endure, and the never ending piles of homework. Sometimes what I really need to do is to put this all into perspective. This is something I was able to do this a couple of days ago at a gathering of friends.

It was to be a gathering where we all compared notes on the first few weeks of classes. A time to compare and contrast the different rotations, residents, supervising doctors and new classmates. It didn’t take long before I realized how easy I have it. The person who hosted it had volunteered his place even after working an intense 80 hour week in an internal medicine rotation. This was a mighty big offer, given that I don’t think he had seen much of his apartment over the past week. Although he had no food or drinks to offer, he had cleaned the place in anticipation of having us over. Unfortunately he didn’t last long enough for me to talk to him, as within an hour into the party he was asleep on the floor. There was some debate as to whether or not we should move him to the bedroom but he looked so peaceful that we eventually just left him where he was. At least this poor bastard was getting some sleep! From the looks of the rest of the room my other friends weren’t in much better shape.

As I looked around the room I realized how tired most of the others looked. One friend had her knees gathered up in her arms and was gently rocking back and forth as she looked around anxiously. Another couldn’t seem to sit down for some reason and would jump up to check their pager at every sound. It was a sad collection of the shell shocked and newly minted clerks. This isn’t to say that I wouldn’t love to be there, suffering along side, but suddenly I realized how lucky I am. I still have time for my few activities and I do get to see my girlfriend on a regular basis. I am relatively unhurried with little stress. This will change come finals but for the time being I should enjoy this feeling because I have a strange premonition that it all change come this time next year…

One response to “Shell shock

  1. Yikes! Now I’m scared about 3rd year too! 😉 XOXOX m

Leave a Reply

