Lacking sugar, lacking insulin

It’s Friday afternoon and the last thing that I want to do is focus on my homework. I usually take Friday nights off and relax, or, if I am lucky enough, go on a date with my girlfriend. Tonight though it’s hard to stay focused enough on the task at hand…I find my mind meandering about, thinking about beer or the latest movie. I feel somewhat guilty about this ’cause I know there are a number of my buddies in the OR tonight wishing they were somewhere else … suckers.

This week was intense in terms of class and concepts. The PBL case covered congenital hyperinsulinemia (which I couldn’t pronounce correctly at 8 am this morning much to the chagrin of my PBL group) and the majority of the lectures covered the opposite, i.e. Diabetes. I am too distracted to think of a decent story from the week and too tired to be funny. I did find a decent website dedicated to dealing with Diabetes that I thought might be helpful to those who suffer (and the numbers are increasing at a frightening rate). The site is called “Six until me” and does not contain medical advice but rather is a collection of posts from a woman who has diabetes. I like these types of blogs, I find them usually pretty useful at providing a more complete picture of a person’s experience. If you are someone who has been diagnosed with diabetes it may be useful to see how someone else deals with the disease on a day to day basis. Alternatively, if anyone who reads this blog (hi ma!) has any resources they’d care to share please leave a comment on this post.

As for me, right now, I’m going to go replenish my own stores of sugar with a burger and a frosty friend ’cause I’m feeling a little hypoglycemic…

3 responses to “Lacking sugar, lacking insulin

  1. Hello there! Thanks for linking out to my site, Six Until Me. I’ve been living with type 1 diabetes since I was six years old and have been blogging about my diabetes life for 2 1/2 years.

    Thanks again for the link. Have a good one!

    — Kerri.

  2. Here’s another blog on living with Diabetes:
    Diabetes Mine @ http://www.diabetesmine.com/

    It contains “…3 years’ worth of info on every imaginable aspect of living with diabetes …” and is well worth a look.

    Enjoy!

  3. Dawn Teeqey Teeqs

    What is the scientific name for a person which is lacking of sugar in heir body?

Leave a Reply

