Post-Christmas milieu

It looks like a bomb went off in my office. I’m not sure what I was thinking when I left for Christmas but it seems like I merely tossed my binders of notes into the room and closed the door for the last 2 weeks. There are papers and books about, interspersed with pens, stickies and an assortment of other office supplies. It’s a mess and with school starting this week, I’m slowly beginning to realize how much work I need to do before I’m ready to tackle a new semester’s worth of classes…

Altogether over the holidays I had: 8 flights over 10 days (no airline seems to fly direct anymore); 12 days of family and friends; 2 turkey dinners; and many visits with a plethora of little kidlets. It was good to get away from things and also good to forget classes for the moment but it was, at the same time, also exhausting. To say that I don’t feel relaxed or ready for semester 2 is an understatement.

Semester 2 of year 2 is a long one. It consists of 21 weeks of class (including exams) with the breakdown as follows: 1 week of dermatology; 9 weeks of neuro/psych; 4 weeks of reproduction and 5 weeks of growth and development. This is 19 weeks of class followed by a week off to study and then a week of finals. In addition to the regular classes another lab component will be added this semester, neuroanatomy. This all adds up to an extremely busy semester and it will be interesting to see how everything sorts out by finals in May.

Leave a Reply

